5 of the Best Indy 500 Winners of All Time

5 of the Best Indy 500 Winners of All Time

The Indy 500 has been running for 115 years and is one of the most prestigious motorsport racing events in history. With that said, we thought it was about time we wrote a bit about it here at Rear View Prints!

In this blog we're going to explore 5 of the best Indy 500 winners of all time. The event has attracted some of the most iconic names in motorsport, including F1 legends like Jim Clark, and Mr. Monaco himself, Graham Hill. Will your fav' make the list? Whether they do or not, we encourage you to sound off in the comments below. So without further ado, and in no particular order...

AJ Foyt

Super Tex himself, AJ Foyt is a larger-than-life American racing icon. He's the only race driver to not only win the Indy 500, but also the Daytona 500, the 24 Hours of Daytona, and the 24 Hours of Le Mans as well.

He won the Indianapolis 500 a total of 4 times, along with other accolades such as the most consecutive and career starts (35), most races led (13), most times led during the career (39), and most competitive laps and miles during a career. Pretty deserving of a spot on a list of the best Indy 500 winners of all time we'd say.

Mario Andretti

Despite only having one official Indy 500 title to his name, we still feel Mario Andretti is more than deserving of a place on a list of the best Indy 500 winners of all time. Put simply, Mario is an all-American icon.

He's probably more well known for his Formula 1 championship in 1978, but he dominated Indycar racing with a prowess unlike many. Only AJ Foyt racked up more wins than him. His influence in the sport lasts to this day with the father-son outfit Andretti Motorsport.

Hélio Castroneves

Some fans would have you believe that Helio doesn't deserve a spot on a list of the best Indy 500 winners because he's facing lesser competition than some of the other legends did years ago.

Well, we think that's nonsense. To an extent. Yes the competition in IndyCar racing isn't as strong as it use to be, but Helio has still notched up 4 Indy 500 wins, including the most recent 2021 win. That's nothing to sniff at for one of motorsport's modern greats.

Bobby Unser

The legendary Bobby Unser needs no introduction. The titan of IndyCar racing passed this year at the grand old age of 87, but his legacy in motorsport will live on forever.

He won the Indy 500 a total of three times in three different decades and was a part of the legendary Unser family, affectionately known as the "first family of Indy". His on-track duels with his younger brother Al are well-known as an iconic part of IndyCar history.

Rick Mears

We round off our list with the legendary Rick Mears. A dominant beast on every inch of tarmac he touched; but most at home at the Brickyard. He won the Indy 500 four times in 1979, 1984, 1988, and 1991.

His persona as a celebrity playboy type earned him a distinct identity in the world of American motorsport and left a dazzling legacy behind made up of hard racing on the track and glamorous lifestyle off it.

We hope you enjoyed our rundown of 5 of the best Indy 500 winners of all time. Remember, Rear View Prints hosts a diverse and unique selection of motorsport prints, including posters of the Brickyard itself.

You can catch up with us on our Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram if ever you wanted to drop us a line about any of our blogs or posters. Catch you next time, folks.

Reading next

9 Best Gifts for Car Lovers and Petrolheads

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.